Mammaglobin mRNA expression as early breast cancer marker

Cover Page

Abstract


Early breast cancer (BC) diagnosis is a basis for overall and relapse-free survival improvement. But methods of X-ray and morphological examination sometimes are failed in BC diagnosis. New molecular markers may give more information about BC progression. One of these markers is mammaglobin. We studied 114 tissue samples: 57 I—IV stages BC samples and 57 samples of morphologically normal breast tissue (MNBT). mRNA mammaglobin expression was assessed by qPCR with reverse transcription. mRAN mammaglobin expression was significantly higher in BC samples as compared to MNBT (p = 0,0019), besides expression level decreased during BC progression: minimal level in T3 (p = 0,0338), grade 3 (p = 0,037) and stage IV (p = 0,035) tumors. hMAM expression correlated with steroid receptors (estrogen receptor, progesterone receptpor) in MNBT (p < 0.05), but not in BC tissue. hMAM mRNA expression decreased during BC progression and correlated with steroid receptors in MNBT. hMAM expression profiling may be used as a marker in BC diagnosis.

V Konstantinovich Bojenko

Scientific Center of Roentgenoradiology of RAMS

Email: vbojenko@mail.ru

V Alekseevich Solodky

Scientific Center of Roentgenoradiology of RAMS

N Vladimirovna Kharchenko

People’s Friendship University of Russia

Email: nkharchenko@mail.ru
Department of oncology and radiology

I Dmitrievich Trotsenko

People’s Friendship University of Russia

Email: trotsenkoivan@mail.ru
Department of oncology and radiology

D Yur'evich Trofimov

“DNA Technology”

Email: dtrofimov@mail.ru

E Aleksandrovna Kudinova

Scientific Center of Roentgenoradiology of RAMS

Email: ekudinova@mail.ru

E Fedorovna Vaskevich

Scientific Center of Roentgenoradiology of RAMS

Email: evaskevich@mail.ru

O V Burmenskaya

Research Center for Obstetrics, Gynecology and Perinatology

Email: burmenskaya@mail.ru

Views

Abstract - 828

PDF (Russian) - 107


Copyright (c) 2013 Боженко В.К., Солодкий В.А., Харченко Н.В., Троценко И.Д., Трофимов Д.Ю., Кудинова Е.А., Васкевич Е.Ф., Бурменская О.В.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.