Economic aspects birds of prey usage as bird control operation

Cover Page

Abstract


Birds attracted to city’s waste landfills represent a significant hazard and additional inconvenience to people. It is necessary to understand not only the reasons for which birds enter the given territory, but also the economic components of the scaring process. The article analyzes the results of bird control management work at several waste management facilities. Based on these calculations, it’s possible to determine of costs level and select the optimal model for the work of specialists in bird scaring.


About the authors

Irina N. Kuznetsova

Union of Falconers of the North-West

Author for correspondence.
Email: dir@nwfu.ru

President

Sergey A. Sergeev

Branch of JSC “Waste Management” in Novocheboksarsk

Email: Sergeev605@yandex.ru

PhD candidate, environmental engineer

Ildar R. Enaleev

Union of Fans of Falconry and Conservation of Birds of Prey “Russian Falcon”

Email: krechet.65@mail.ru

Doctor of Biological Sciences, member-correspondent of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences, President

References

  1. Zvonov BM. Bird protection strategy for the national economic enterprises. PestManagement. 2006;(4):42–46.
  2. Enaleev IR, Sorokin AG, Sergeev SА. Birds of Prey usage as a Biorepellent in the Novocheboksarsk Landfill. WASTE'2018. Municipal waste management as an important factor of the sustainable urban development: Materials of the International Conference. Saint Petersburg: Saint Petersburg State Electrotechnical University “LETI” named after V.I. Ulyanov (Lenin); 2018. p. 95–99.
  3. Kuznetsova IN, Lyzhenkov VV, Zhigiley ON, Glukhov SYu. Birds of Prey as a basic of the complex program bird control services in the Saint Petersburg landfill. WASTE'2018. Municipal waste management as an important factor of the sustainable urban development: Materials of the International Conference. Saint Petersburg: Saint Petersburg State Electrotechnical University “LETI” named after V.I. Ulyanov (Lenin); 2018. p. 119–123
  4. Popov EA. Birds quantification in the large flocks: the photographic method. Russian ornithology magazine. 2016;25(1349):3855–3857.
  5. Bibby C, Jones M, Marsden S. Birds survey. London: Royal Geographical Society; 1998.

Statistics

Views

Abstract - 33

PDF (Russian) - 9

Cited-By


PlumX

Dimensions


Copyright (c) 2019 Kuznetsova I.N., Sergeev S.A., Enaleev I.R.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

This website uses cookies

You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website.

About Cookies